Irresistibly danceable afro-funk from Ghana

classic afro-rock - shifting hi-life rhythms, grittily soulful vocals

With irresistible grooves driven by strident basslines, propulsive percussion and skittery highlife guitars, KonKoma add a progressive edge to their rich blend of Afro-funk, jazz, soul and traditional African rhythms as well as acknowledging the 70s recordings that spawned the sound. Based around two long term members of the Afro-rock band Osibisa – Alfred Bannerman (guitars, vocals) and Emmanuel Rentzos (keyboards, vocals), KonKoma also feature Reginald ‘Jojo’ Yates (vocals, mbira, sepriwa, percussion), Nii Tagoe (vocals, percussion), Jose Joyette (drums), Derrick McIntyre (bass), Scott Baylis (trumpet), Max Grunhard (saxophones) and Ben Hadwen (saxophones and flute).